First came Alex Cross.

Then the Women’s Murder Club.

Now meet Detective Michael Bennett, 

NYPD-and his ten children.


The nation has fallen into mourning after the death of a beloved former first lady. The most powerful people in the world gather in Ne2w York for her funeral- then the inconceivable occurs. Billionaires, politicians, and superstars of every kind are suddenly trapped within one man’s brilliant and cold-blooded scenario.


Ten adopted kids.

Detective Michael Bennett-father of then- is pulled into the fray. As the danger escalates, Michael experiences a devastating loss: after fighting for many years, his wife has succumbed to a terrible disease. As new York descends into chaos, he faces raising his ten heartbroken children alone- and rescuing thirty-four hostages.


The Crime of the Century to solve

Day after day, Bennett confronts the most ruthless man he has ever encountered. As the entire world watches and the tension builds to a searing heat, Bennett has to find a way out- or face responsibility for a deadly debacle.


Welcome to Michael Bennett’s world

From the #1 bestselling author who introduced readers to Alex Cross and the Women’s Murder Club- “one of the bestselling writers in history” (New York Sun)- comes the beginning of a brand-new electrifying series. Step on a crack is his most fiendishly terrifying thriller yet.

Step on a Crack #1 by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge

SKU: AB223383
  • Hardback